RSS

DIY Laundry Detergent with doTERRA Essential Oils….AWESOME!

15 Jul

Ok, we FINALLY did it!  Kelli and I had to try this do it yourself laundry detergent.  It not only is SOOOO dang cheap, but it really does an incredible job cleaning as well!  Here are some snap shots of how we did it:

Here is what you need:

  • 25-30 Drops doTERRA Purify Essential Oil
  • 1 Box of  Pure Baking Soda 4 lb.
  • 1 Box of  Borax 4 lb. 12 oz. 
  • 1 Box of  Super Wash Soda 3 lb. 7 oz.
  • 1 Tub of  Oxy-Clean (or generic) 3 lb.
  • 3 Bars of Fels-Naptha 5.5 oz.

DSC_0003

Grate all three bars of Fels-Naptha soap.  I used the smaller side of the cheese grater.  This is the ONLY part of this process that took some effort.  I read you could use a food processor too, but I gave mine away! :)

DSC_0001

This is about the consistency you want the grated soap to be so it dissolves easily in the washing machine:

DSC_0005

Pour each ingredient into a 5 gallon bucket so there is room to stir.  This will cause a bit of a dust storm so you will want to stir slowly.

DSC_0037

Stir until all the ingredients are evenly distributed.  This fills the bucket about half full.  I put the lid on tightly and turned the bucket upside down and rolled it around a bit to help stir it as well.  But you have to be sure your lid is on very tightly or you will really have a mess!

DSC_0044

Now is the time to add your essential oil.  I used Purify because I love the clean smell and it’s ability to remove odor.  You could use lavender, lemon, citrus bliss, or the essential oil of your choice.  I used 25-30 drops.

DSC_0046

Mix it together well.

AND THERE YOU HAVE IT!!

DSC_0058

All it takes is 1 Tablespoon per load!  It cleans very well, better than the detergent I was using.  We will never buy regular, high priced laundry soap again!  If you have a really dirty load, you can add an additional Tablespoon of detergent to the wash cycle.  This pail of detergent should last you a LONG, LONG time!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “DIY Laundry Detergent with doTERRA Essential Oils….AWESOME!

  1. ka kowalski

    July 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

    have you tried this in a energy efficient washer yet?

     
  2. Nancy

    October 22, 2013 at 11:51 am

    How much do you use for high efficenty washers? I also heard that the homeade dry detergent clogs pipes? Has this been a problem?

     
    • Carla Karstens - doTERRA, IPC

      November 12, 2013 at 9:41 pm

      Hi Nancy,
      I don’t have a HE washer, but I did do some research on both your topics. Here is a link to a comment another gal posted on a blog that addresses the amount to use, as well as septic issues. For the powder you would use 2 Tablespoons according to her post. She also mentions the liquid version and how much to use. I hope this information was helpful:

      My recipe is very similar and do not have septic issues. Keep in mind that I have a double load HE frontloader. I use both Liquid and powder interchangeably. If you are using to much likely it will cause issues but that is true of any detergent. This stuff is a powerful cleaning agent. In my double loader I use 1/4 cup liquid or 2 tablespoons of powder. I had installed a grey water pit/field for my sinks and washer bc the commercial detergents are far worse. I did this way before I gave any thought making my own. To cause septic problems you would need to do 3 loads a day for a year or two everyday! But any detergent on the market would cause septic issues if used this much
      http://barefootmommy.blogspot.com/2011/05/septic-friendly-homemade-laundry.html

       
  3. erin

    March 21, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Do you store this detergent in a plastic container? I was putting mine in plastic containers and then remembered doTERRA oils can eat right through plastic :-o (I used quite a few more drops than you recipe calls for).

     
    • Carla Karstens - doTERRA, IPC

      March 21, 2014 at 4:45 pm

      Hi Erin! Yes I use plastic in this case. It is diluted enough that there has never been an issue. This is one of the few instances where plastic has been fine.

       
  4. Lisa Ensor

    May 30, 2014 at 9:55 am

    How much did this make? I’m planning a Green Cleaning class with Doterra oils and thought this would be fun to giveaway!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

